Just a Girl Sharing Her Thoughts

When I look back at my college years I think of all the amazing times I had. The parties, greek activities, boys, and some schooling of course 🙂 They all had one thing in common which made them so exceptional……..the friends.

Fling Finals @ MU circa 2004

In college I had a lot of friends. Between sorority life, clubs and classes, there was never a shortage of people to go out with or just hang with if I was bored.  This was something I took for granted, because what I didn’t know was this would all change pretty drastically after college.

Let’s get straight to the point; it is hard to find friends as an adult. This is especially true if you move, which happens to be the case for most young professionals (these days most of us would go anywhere just to find a job!).  Now don’t start feeling too badly for me, I do have friends, it’s just that none of them happen to live in San Antonio.

Social networking has really been a lifesaver for me. I believe I am one of few females who does not like to talk on the phone, so the internet is what keeps me connected. Between twitter, facebook, email, and my blog I have been able to keep in close contact with a lot of my friends. In fact, relationships have grown stronger with some since I left college.

There are two reasons I say to stay connected to old friends:

1) They will get you through those times when you are without friends in close proximity

2) You never know where life will take you; meaning geographically

Way Back When

My best friend in college is from Texas, and although we used to cheers while drinking quarter draws to “Ten years from now living large in Texas” (I’m very cool if you didn’t know) I never really knew where I would end up. The good news is after moving around in Missouri for graduate school I found a fantastic man from Texas and, long story short, here we are getting ready to enjoy a night out in Austin with an old friend; and man, does it feel good. And it would have never happened if I hadn’t taken the time to stay in touch.

Keep Old Friends

Comments on: "Keep in Touch With Old Friends" (2)

  1. I know how you feel. I moved to Texas a little over two years ago and I’m still having a hard time making friends… The internet is a lifesaver!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

