Just a Girl Sharing Her Thoughts

Make Your Own Hummus

One thing that I have learned as I’ve grown older is that you actually can get enjoyment out of doing things for yourself. Try telling that to my 17 year old self and you would get an eye roll that annoying “ugh” noise teenagers make. Since maturing through college (okay, mostly through graduate school), I have come across these instances of enjoyment on quite a few occasions:

  • Buying my own things (clothes, furniture, food)
  • Taking initiative at work to complete projects instead of waiting to be told what to do
  • Working out instead of trying to crash diet
  • Making my own meals instead of going out to eat or heating up Lean Cuisines (shudder….)

Last November I made “the change,” I became an eater of REAL food. This change has propelled me into the world of cooking that I had never explored before. An important tool in this change was the KitchenAid food processor my future hubs got me for Christmas last year (I got him a KitchenAid mixer for his birthday; what can I say, we’re romantic 🙂 ). One of the first recipes I made on said processor was a household favorite, Roasted Red Pepper Hummus; from scratch.  Although making your own hummus can be more time consuming than picking a tub of Sabra off the shelf at your local grocer, it has the cool factor that Sabra doesn’t; that being you are able to tell people “I made it myself.” And don’t let the words “from scratch” scare you; unlike my fiancé who is a phenomenal cook, I am much less talented in the kitchen.  Because of this, you have my word every recipe I put on this blog will be easy.

Right off the bat when making hummus, there are a few investment pieces needed, tahini and chick peas top the list, but they are well worth the few extra dollars upfront to make mountains of hummus in the future. Making your own hummus on a consistent basis will definitely save you money in the long run.

The instructions are simple, just the way I like it.

  1. Put all the ingredients in the food processor:
    1. 1 cup chickpeas (Simply soak dried beans overnight, then put in a sauce pan covered with 2-3 inches of water, bring to a boil & simmer for 1.5 hours)
    2. 3 gloves raw garlic
    3. 1/3 cup sesame tahini
    4. Juice from 1 lemon
    5. 1 tsp cumin
    6. 2 tbsp olive oil
    7. 1 tsp salt
    8. 3/4 tsp pepper
    9. 1 roasted red pepper (Click HERE for quick & easy instructions for roasting a red pepper)
    10. 1/2 cup water (only necessary if you are cooking the chickpeas from dry. If they are canned they typically have enough liquid.
  2. Blend.

That’s it!

Next steps are the easiest and dare I say the most enjoyable.

  1. Pack hummus as intricate part of lunch for work
  2. Bring said lunch to work
  3. Brag about making said hummus
  4. Eat and watch others drool

Comments on: "Make Your Own Hummus" (4)

  1. I seriously just posted about loving hummus…love that you shared this recipe! I have been wanting to try to make my own for a while now…this may have been the motivation I needed!
    Kate

  2. Ummm…you have a 17 year old???!!!! When did you have him when you were 5? haha You do NOT look like you are close to the age of having a teenage! I want your genes!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

